Interactive Bar

Translate / Traduire / Übersetzen / Tłumaczyć / Išversti / Tulkot / Traducir

Scroll to content

Christ the King Catholic Primary School


Our Governing Body

The Governors at Christ the King Catholic School are committed to providing a broad and inclusive education, allowing all children to fulfill their potential.


The Governors are legally responsible for the running of the school, making decisions in key areas for the benefit of, and on behalf of, everybody concerned with school – pupils, parents, carers, all staff and the diocese. We are also members of the school and parish communities, many of us are parents of pupils past and present.

Our key role is in supporting the work of the school leadership team and the staff, and making important decisions about how the school will be run.

We also aim to be approachable and to listen to the communities we represent. Most of all we want to contribute to Christ the King School continuing to be a happy and thriving school!


Some of the key areas we deal with are:

  • Promoting high standards of achievement
  • Promoting Catholic values
  • Planning the school’s long-term direction
  • Setting the school’s aims, values and ethos
  • Setting and monitoring the school budget
  • Appointing senior staff
  • Ensuring a safe and productive school environment
  • Monitoring and evaluating school performance

Appointing Governors

Our Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese of Westminster, our parent governors are elected by parents and carers and our staff governor is elected by all of our members of staff. Governors often have a lead role for a specific area such as curriculum or health and safety and are expected to visit our school once in each term (by arrangement with our Head of School) to monitor our progress. 

Meet our Governors

  • James Potts - Local Authority Governor and Chair of Governors
  • Paul Najsarek – Foundation Governor and Vice Chair of Governors
  • Una McCann - Foundation Governor & safeguarding Governor
  • Lorraine Beirne- Foundation Governor
  • Siobhan Tate- Foundation Governor
  • Dianne Browning-  Co-opted Governor
  • Lorraine McAteer- Foundation Governor
  • John Lane –Staff Governor and Executive Headteacher
  • Maria Balogun - Staff Governor
  • Sam Griffith- Parent Governor
  • Nana Brew- Parent Governor


In addition there are also Associate Members, who are:

  • Kayleigh Sumsion – Assistant Headteacher
  • Tracy Lane - Deputy Headteacher
  • Maria McCormick- Deputy Headteacher
  • Nichola Beveridge- School Business manager
  • Alice Brady- Acting Assistant Headteacher
  • Jesse Drummond- Acting Assistant Headteacher


Our Clerk to the Governing Body is Jane Boyce.

Governor Committees

The Full Governing Body of Christ the King Catholic school meets once a term, and is composed of representatives from the Diocese, Council, parents and staff.

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese of Westminster, parent governors are elected by parents and carers and staff governors are elected by the school staff. Most of the decisions Governors make are at committee level. Our three committees are:


  • Curriculum and Standards- Committee Chair- Dianne Browning
  • Finance and Premises- Committee Chair- James Potts
  • Personnel- - Committee Chair - Una McCrann
  • Admissions- Committee Chair- 

Become a school governor

Becoming a school governor is a valuable way of serving the local community and provides  an opportunity for you to support the continual improvement of the delivery of education in schools.

Please contact Ms. Beveridge, our School Business Manager for further information.